logo

Review

How was your experience?

    5 star review  I recently attended a team building event at Healthy Italia and absolutely loved it. We chose to learn to make ravioli with an eggplant and tomato sauce. Laura is a delight! He is quite engaging, funny, and made the entire event very special. The kitchen was immaculate and the food was amazing. They use only the finest fresh ingredients, all imported from Italy, and I thoroughly enjoyed all of the tastings. Laura not only explains how to make the dish, but takes the time to explain the origin of the meal, and gives a mini Italian lesson while doing it. My coworkers and I all agreed that this was the best team building event we'd ever attended. I will definitely go back on my own for their other cooking events.

    thumb Kelly Bennett Ceransky
    9/22/2017

    5 star review  Awesome shop. Excellent products from Italy and very nice and knowledgeable owner. Highly recommend it!

    thumb Virginie Delwart
    8/19/2017

    5 star review  This place by far is one of the best places in New Jersey. I had them do a private dinner for 2 for me and my wife in which we were able to be make our own meal with the instructor and it was amazing. From the food quality to the ambience and service you can't find a better place. I would give them 10 stars if I could. They have a huge selection products that come in weekly straight from Italy from fine cheeses to pastas so you know it's the best. Thanks Cristina for an amazing night

    thumb Robert Praizner
    5/29/2017

    5 star review  I just moved to town and they dropped off a gift at my front door to meet me and welcome me to Madison! Such sweet people and great food!

    thumb Julianne Dolores Fama
    5/24/2017

    5 star review  Have attended two of Laura's classes now:The first was her pasta essentials class where we made our own pasta from 00 flour, later to be used to make both tagliatelle and two types of cheese ravioli. We also made meatballs in fresh tomato sauce, and a light tomato/eggplant/red onion/cheese sauce thickened with water from cooking the pasta.The second was her risotto class, where we made both a cheese risotto, and a shrimp/vegetable risotto.Both classes were excellent, the perfect mix of fun, italian culinary history and technique. Laura makes everything a joy, and even neophytes succeed in here classes. I heartily recommend them!

    thumb John C. Fusi
    4/16/2017

    5 star review  Attended the Risotto Workshop and learned so much in addition to having a fantastic meal and fun with new friends! Laura was knowledgeable and engaging teaching us how to master delicious risotto. They have a beautiful kitchen and amazing store with every Italian import you might want! Loved it!!!

    thumb Susan La Bella
    4/15/2017

    5 star review  This is a wonderful shop, owned by young (but extremely knowledgable) Italian people. All the products--food & cookware-- are imported from Italy. There is a cooking studio as well. I just attended a tasting of Balsamic vinegars -- & what a difference in taste between those unaged ones & the 3 year one! Lovely appetizers to taste them out on. A favorite store!

    thumb Sally Stocker
    4/04/2017

    2 star review  Little disappointed with Healthy Italia in Madison. Had signed up for a lunch and learn today with three colleagues. One had a death in the family, one is ill and the other still snowed in. I didn't even ask for my money back but a credit for another class since we really wanted to do this. They said they couldn't. So we all lose. I love the market and have enjoyed events there before, but this is disconcerting

    thumb Gwen Packard
    3/15/2017

    5 star review  My son and I attended their children's cooking class. The setup was lovely. We were greeted by Laura, our instructor and her husband. The table was set, we were offered espresso and antipasti. Then the cooking began. Laura and her assistant, Christina were incredibly patient and fun. The best part? Eating our creations. The kids were amazed that something they had made turned out so good. On the way out my son turned to me and asked, when's our next class?! I'm thinking of getting a few friends together for an adult class.

    thumb Tricia Sciarillo Kranz
    3/05/2017

    5 star review  Had them cater some of my sides for Christmas. The dishes were over the top, outstanding. I have never tasted broccoli rabe that had been prepared so perfectly before. What flavor! Their service is 5 star as well, from ordering to picking up. They even let me pick up on Christmas morning, including bread freshly baked that day. Get there as fast as you can. From imported foods and cookware, to catering and cooking classes, you will be glad you found this gem.

    thumb Barbara Hill
    1/23/2017

    5 star review  My boys (9 and 10) attended a cooking class and they absolutely loved it. The involvement of the students and teachers was just perfect. Boys got hands on experience. To quote my 9 year old "best pasta ever!" Would highly recommend to all my friends and family.

    thumb Josephine Rodriguez Cambian
    12/28/2016

    5 star review  What a great experience! Laura is so nice, the staff is amazing and the food is so delizioso! Way to go guys!!!

    thumb Federica Ravera
    12/02/2016

    5 star review  I just had my daughter Isabella'a 7th birthday party here. The place is amazing and so clean! The staff is so nice and they have such patience with the kids. Would highly recommend this place-they have such amazing classes that they offer as well!

    thumb Allison Gonnella- Conte
    11/23/2016

    5 star review  My friend & I enjoyed our visit ...plenty of samples of their distinct Italian olive oils directly from Tuscany & Sicily, truffle oils, and various yummy spreads:) Thanks to Diane who guided us along ūüôā

    thumb Felicia DiFabrizio Smith
    10/20/2016

  •   I celebrated my 50th here recently. Working with everyone involved to pull off the event was a joy. Lauren and crew accommodated changes to the menu and headcount right up until the morning of the party (not sure if I was supposed to advertise this part). We had the entire store to ourselves, and everyone had a great experience: the food was fantastic, the cooking fun, and the service exceptional. Oh, and if having an event here, ask them to make you their off-menu chocolate cake; like the store, a hidden gem. Thank you for a great memory!

    thumb Tony S.
    4/12/2018

      I cannot possibly put into words how wonderful Healthy Italia is.

    We held an event there for my company on a Tuesday night. They set up a long table for us in the middle of the store and accomodated a group of just over 20. We made tagliatelle from scratch with eggplant and tomato, pork loin with honey and balsamic, and riso al latte (with this incredible pistachio spread!). We were also provided with a welcoming prosecco toast and antipasto. The owners were so kind and great at teaching each recipe in detail. They shared stories of their lives in Italy and how their grandma's used to make this food for them. We had SUCH a fun time. They also extended a discount to anyone who wanted to shop that night (and shop we did). After the event, they emailed us the recipes so we can make the dishes we learned at home. This event totally exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to return and learn how to cook something new!

    thumb Brooke O.
    2/27/2018

      Recently went here for a cooking/food event and it was awesome. Everything here is so delicious, the staff is so pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend! And, got a few things in the shop. Great selection and worth a visit!

    thumb J. L.
    2/23/2018

      We love Laura and her husband! ¬†I surprised my wife with the Valentine's Day Gnocchi night (2/14/18). ¬†We were greeted with a glass of prosecco and began the night meeting the other couples who were also there that evening. ¬†After we mingled and drank our prosecco, we sat down to a table full of delicious antipasto and carried on conversation with those next to us. ¬†We then had the pleasure of making homemade Gnocchi with Laura teaching us the entire way. ¬†Once we made the Gnocchi, we baked it with butter and fontina cheese for 10 minutes. ¬†We were all pleasantly surprised how well we made the Gnocchi and how delicious it was. ¬†Laura then served us cornish hens, roasted potatoes with rosemary, roasted peppers and zucchini, which was capped off with a lemonchello ice. ¬† The food was delicious!! ¬†I highly recommend taking friends to a cooking class which is what we will do next time we go! ¬†Don't forget to take your favorite bottles of wine as it is BYOB. ¬†Also, don't forget to try their pastas and cheeses!

    thumb Dean B.
    2/19/2018

      My wife threw a surprise birthday for me here recently and we could not have been happier with the whole experience. ¬†The party for 12 people included appetizers, a pasta-making class, dinner (we ate the pasta we made from scratch), and dessert. ¬†The staff was professional and pleasant and we never felt rushed. ¬†The food was delicious! I highly recommend Healthy Italia for a private party --- you won't be disappointed!

    thumb Paul S.
    2/19/2018

      Just had a wonderful cooking instruction session and lunch at Healthy Italia. Excellent instruction by Laura and wonderful selection of items for antipasto, then delicious carbonara and beautiful yummy dessert. The ingredients are fresh and the results are fabulous. We were a group of ten and had a great time.

    thumb Ml B.
    11/18/2017

      Healthy Italia put on an amazing private event for my 50th birthday! From the moment we stepped in the door to our goodbye we were treated to an amazing culinary and cultural experience. The menu was personalized to our needs and everything was so deliciously prepared. The service was wonderful. Everyone was super friendly. ¬†All of my friends raved about how this was such a unique and fun experience. Thank you Healthy Italia for making this such a memorable occasion!!
    PS-- love doing all my gift shopping with you. The gifts are always such a big hit!!!

    thumb Sonia Z.
    9/27/2017

      I was invited to an event at Healthy Italia and it was just wonderful. We made a four course dinner that was delicious. Laura, the owner and chef was a terrific teacher and fully explained everything we were doing. ¬†The class was fun and everyone was engaged. A great night out and a terrific way to spend time with friends or business associates.

    thumb Jane M.
    9/14/2017

      Little disappointed with Healthy Italia in Madison. Had signed up for a lunch and learn today with three colleagues. One had a death in the family, one is ill and the other still snowed in. I didn't even as for my money back but a credit for another class since we really wanted to do this. They said they couldn't. So we all lose. I love the market and have enjoyed events there before, but this is disconcerting

    thumb Gwen P.
    3/15/2017

      This was our second time here for a cooking class. They really do an outstanding job!
    We brought our daughter this time and she had a blast! The instructor is from Italy with a heavy accent which I love. She explains all of the directions clearly and tells you their names in Italian.
    This time we made homemade pasta from scratch. We also made chocolate cookies for dessert. It was really a lot of fun mixing and rolling out the pasta dough until finally cutting it and then cooking it. We tossed it with a little pancetta, heavy cream and parm cheese. It was delicious!
    Plenty of room to work at your station and plenty of assistants to aid you.
    They offer, "couples night" classes as well as many others for children, teens, etc.
    The added benefit is that after the class, you receive a discount on all of the items in their store.
    Great people and a great place.
    I highly recommend taking a cooking class here.

    thumb Robert M.
    2/12/2017

      I purchased a wonderful "green" frying pan from Healthy Italia. I enjoy their ¬†authentic Italian ¬†products too.

    I SO want to see this business thrive.  Healthy Italia, please consider lowering your cooking class prices.  $165 is so pricey for three hours, even though you are offering food.  We love having you in Madison and want to see you do well !!

    thumb Beth D.
    11/23/2016

      If I could provide a zero star rating for a business, this would be the one. I am sincerely appalled by the incredibly poor interaction I just had with this business which is located down the street from my home. I had called and spoken with the business on Thursday at 5:30pm, looking for options to host a corporate function on a specific date. After speaking with the lady there, she offered a "courtesy hold" be placed on my date, to which I thanked her and committed to confirming with her by end of business the following day. Just afternoon the next day, I received a message from her stating that the date which she supposedly had a "courtesy hold on had "been booked for a private event and is no longer available." When I asked how this was even possible being that she had offered me a "courtesy hold", She responded by saying that "unfortunately If someone is willing to put a deposit down on a date I have to take it." Had she simply had the courtesy to call me to confirm before taking another offer, I would have confirmed my event on the spot. Clearly, this business does not understand the definition of the word, "courtesy" and should strike it from their vocabulary. I am truly disappointed by this interaction with my hometown business and will certainly never bring them business again in the future as this encounter has caused personal and professional embarrassment to me. They should be ashamed of themselves...

    thumb Mandi S.
    11/18/2016

      We held my 50th birthday party here this past weekend and it was incredibly fun! ¬†Paolo, Lara and the team here do an amazing job of making sure you have a great time. The appetizers were wonderful and the cooking instruction for our group making Ricotta Gnocchi was great. We had a group of 14 and every single person at the party loved it. Thanks also to Lisa for organizing this for us!

    thumb Robert W.
    10/18/2016

      I did a cooking class with my boyfriend at La Buona Cucina and it was fantastic! The owners are super friendly and the class was very organized. The food was delicious and we met nice people in our class. We had so much fun and would love to go back. At the end of the class, we were even offered a discount on the product sold in the store, where we purchased olive oil, pasta, and a few other things. We actually just returned from a trip to Italy recently and we found the entire experience to be super authentic, I would highly recommend it. Perfect for a date night or girls night out.

    thumb Mallory K.
    7/13/2016